Skip to content

Default Blueprint

All managed clusters, immaterial of type (i.e. imported or provisioned) always have a blueprint associated with it.

Default Cluster Blueprint

The default cluster blueprint is the baseline for any managed cluster. Default blueprints are version controlled and its lifecycle on clusters is remotely managed by the Rafay Ops team. These are remotely updated when patches or upgrades are necessary.

In the example below, the managed cluster is based on a default blueprint. Note the following details

  • Name of Blueprint: "default" in this example
  • The version/timestamp of the default blueprint
  • Blueprint Sync Status

Default Cluster Blueprint

By Cluster Type

"Optimized" default blueprints are available per type of cluster to ensure that the experience is optimized for the particular environment.

The table below describes what is common/shared and what is unique for the cluster type.

Category Rafay MKS Amazon EKS Imported
Rafay k8s Operator YES YES YES
Monitoring & Alerting YES YES YES
Log Aggregation YES YES YES
Ingress Controller YES YES YES
Instance Interruption NO YES NO
Network Policy YES NO NO

Optional Overrides

The only addon in the default cluster blueprint that can currently be optionally disabled is the "Managed Ingress Controller". This may be necessary if the customer intends to use an alternate Ingress Controller (such as Traefik etc.) that will contend for the same cluster resources.

View Default Blueprints

As an Admin, login into the Rafay Console

  • Select Project
  • Select Infrastructure -> Blueprints
  • Select the "Default Blueprints" tab

In the example below, the dashboard shows that there are >300 versions of the default blueprint over the entire lifecycle and that there two clusters in the Project based on the default blueprint

View Default Blueprint

Clicking on the clusters link will display the status of the default blueprint on the list of clusters. An illustrative example is shown below.

Clusters with Default Blueprint